Clear all

Allstar node from Motorola CDM 1250 radio

9 Posts
4 Users
2 Likes
(@ab4ba)
Topic starter  

Building an Allstar Node using Motorola CDM1250

Honestly this took me a week to figure this out and I am still learning new stuff.  If you follow these instructions you can probably get things working in about a day.  There are several items needed.

Motorola CDM1250 radio

Power cable                          https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00ZEFSSYQ?psc=1&ref=ppx_yo2_dt_b_product_details

Motorola data cable  https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08CRBT3XM?psc=1&ref=ppx_yo2_dt_b_product_details

Mini UHF to UHF connector  https://www.amazon.com/dp/B011KJ7RAK?psc=1&ref=ppx_yo2_dt_b_product_details

Raspberry Pi version 3 is better for this due to heat issues with ver. 4.

RIM-Maxtrac    http://www.repeater-builder.com/products/usb-rim-lite.html   This comes with a connecting cable for the Raspberry Pi

Micro SD card, 32GB or 16GB

That’s all the hardware.  Now software.

Professional Radio CPS for Motorola Version R04.00.00 works.  My file was CPSPRO04 from Paul, AC5S  The 06.12.05 also works well.

HAMVOIP Asterisk from Allstar    HamVOIP.org  **This file includes PuTTy and Win32Diskimager and the disc image for the raspberry Pi.

Next you will want the schematic from the RIM-Maxtrac.  It has a few instructions in the margins needed to make the PTT work.

YouTube is your friend.  Look up KG4FJC 220MHZ and find his 6 video series on how to put this all together.  He is quirky to say the least and hates flies, but he really knows his stuff.  He is using a different radio and building his own cable so you can skip videos 1,2,3, and 4.  Start with Video 5 and 6.  These tell you how to set up your Allstar software on the Pi.  Also he sets up PuTTy for remote access and runs through the INITIAL Allstar setup.  This will get you most of the way there but IT WILL NOT WORK YET.